April 15th

(The Andy Andrews book How Do You Kill 11 MILLION PEOPLE? he writes . . . ) “ “Look, I’m not the smartest guy in the world, but neither am I incredibly stupid. I believe that most folks like me find the days and weeks leading up to April 15 to be – how should I put this?- stressful. Not because we object to paying tax, but because we fear doing it incorrectly and having to deal with the IRS if we have done so!
The US tax code is so convoluted and bewildering that few of us completely understand it. Yet many politicians actually derive power from it. Through the years, congressional representatives and senators have manipulated the tax code for myriad reasons, such as accepting donations or helping powerful members of their districts back home. In any case, a complex tax code provides a certain cover for shady wheeling and dealing at election time; therefore, there is not much incentive for politicians to simplify the process.”

